Board of Trustees
Home  |  About Us  |  Board of Trustees

Board Composition

Trustees are appointed in accordance with Section 6 of the GEP Law. Fund members and employers are equally represented on the Board. Member representatives include a pensioner and a South African National Defence Force and intelligence community representative elected through a postal ballot.

Skill, Knowledge and Experience of Trustees

According to Section 4.1.2 of GEPF’s rules, at least one of the eight employer-nominated trustees must have expertise in financial management and investments, or the management and organisation of pension funds in general. Two independent specialists currently serve as trustees, supported by two independent specialist substitute trustees.

The other trustees and their substitutes have a range of skills, knowledge and experience necessary to effectively manage and govern the Fund. The profiles of the 16 trustees are as follows:

Mr Arthur Moloto
Chairperson of the Board of Trustees

  • University of Limpopo: BA (Education)
  • University of Limpopo: BA Hons (Development Studies)
  • University of London: Postgraduate Diploma (Economic Principles)
  • Board Chairperson: Pan-African Infrastructure Development Fund
  • Member of Parliament
  • Member: Portfolio Committee on Energy and Auditor-General

Mr Prabir Badal
Vice Chairperson of the Board of Trustees and Chairperson of the Finance and Audit Committee (F-AC)

  • National Diploma (Cost and Management Accounting)
  • HDip Tax - Local & International Tax
  • Programme Investment Analysis & Portfolio Management
  • National Treasurer: NEHAWU
  • Tax auditor: South African Revenue Service

Brigadier General Dries de Wit
Chairperson of the Benefits and Administration Committee (B-AC)

  • Director: Human Resource Strategy and Planning of the Department of Defence, Defence Headquarters
  • SA Defence Force Personnel Specialist of the Year (1992)
  • South African Air Force Individual Productivity Award (Gold) (1996)
  • Tertiary qualification (Human Resource Management)

Mr Kenny Govender

  • Deputy Director-General: Human Resource Management and Development

Ms Cecilia Khuzwayo
Chairperson of the Governance and Legal Committee (GL-C)

  • BCom (Law)
  • Chairperson: National Energy Regulator of South Africa(NERSA)
  • Advanced coaching practice
  • Managing Partner: BMK Leadership Coaching Consultants

Mr Mpho Kwinika

  • National Diploma (Policing)
  • President: South African Police Union
  • Chairperson: Sililanabo South African Police Union Trust Fund

Dr Frans le Roux

  • University of Stellenbosch: DCom (Economics)
  • Former Chairperson: Public Investment Corporation Executive Committee (PIC)
  • Former Deputy Director-General: Financial Management, National Treasury
  • Former Chief Executive Officer: Government Employees Pension Fund (GEPF)

Dr Mary Ledwaba

  • Cheyney University, Pennsylvania: BA (Psychology)
  • Howard Cheyney University, Pennsylvania: MEd (Masters in Educational Administration)
  • Howard University, Washington, D.C: PhD (Sociology)
  • Chief Director: Human Resource Strategy and Policy, Department of Defence
  • Member: South African National Defence Force Military Academy Institute
  • Executive board member: South African National Chapter of the African Association for Public Administration and Management

Ms Marion Mbina-Mthembu

  • BCom Accounting (Cost and Management Accounting and Business Administration)
  • Associate Cost and Management Accountant: Institute of Cost and Management Accountants
  • Deputy Director-General: Corporate Services, National Treasury
advocate daniel

Advocate Daniels

  • Senior Public Prosecutor – National Prosecuting Authority (Western Cape)
  • LLB – University of the Western Cape

Mr Thobile Ntola

  • President: South African Democratic Teachers Union
  • School Principal: Chulekile Senior Secondary
  • Member: South African Communist Party Central Committee

Mr SG Padayachee

  • BPaed (Primary Education)
  • BA Hons (History)
  • MBA (Negotiations)
  • Acting Deputy Director General: Planning, Information and Assessment - Department of Basic Education

Edith Mogotsi

  • Diploma – Public Administration , University of the Western Cape
  • National Diploma – Policing, UNISA
  • Member – IODSA
  • Lieutenant Colonel , Provincial Inspectorate NorthWest Province (Current Position)
Ms Fagmeedah Lurie

Ms Fagmeedah Lurie

  • Fellowship of the Institute of Actuaries, Oxford, United Kingdom (1999)
  • University of Cape Town Graduate school of business: Postgraduate Diploma ( Management Practice)
  • Fellow of the actuarial Society of South Africa (2000)
  • University of Cape Town: Bachelor of business science (Actuarial Science)
  • Associate: Financial Planning Institute
  • Accredited Member of the Institute of Directors
Quick Links
Joining the Public Service
Who is a GEPF Pensioner?
GEPF Rule and Law
RMC to hold a workshop in the North West on 14 May 2014
Retirement Member Campaign
GEPF to exhibit at the 2014 Rand Easter Show
18 April to 28 April 2014 Joburg Expo Centre, Nasrec
Contact Us Contact Us Most Visited Categories
Board of Trustees
3rd Floor Block A,
River Walk Office Park
41 Matroosberg Road
Ashlea Gardens, Extension 6 Menlo Park
South Africa

Tell: +27 12 424 7330
Fax: +27 12 424 7322

For more information, click here
GEPF Administration Office
34 Hamilton Street

Tell: +27 80 011 7669
Fax: +27 12 326 2507

For more information, click here

New GEPF Board Convenes.
GEPF’s customer service centre relocation.
GEPF Pension Increase 2014
RMC moves to the Western Cape on 24 March 2014
RMC to hold a workshop in the North West on 14 May 2014
Press Releases
Photo Gallery
© 2012 Sitemap  |  Disclaimer  |  Fraud Line  |  Contact Us