The Minister of Finance, Mr Nhlanhla Nene yesterday convened the first sitting of the new Government Employees Pension Fund (GEPF) Board of Trustees following the end of tenure of the previous Board.

The new Board elected Dr Renosi Mokate as Chairperson and Mr Edward Kekana as Vice Chairperson. Both Trustees have been re-appointed to the GEPF Board.
The Board of Trustees comprises of 16 members, eight nominated by employer and the other eight nominated by employees. The names of the new Board of Trustees is as follows:

Employer Representative Trustees

Department – Name
National Treasury – Mr Stadi Mngomezulu (Re-appointed)
Department of Defence- Maj Gen Mulungisa Sitshongaye
State Security Agency – Ms Jennita Kandailal
Department of Basic Education – Dr Morgen Pillay (Re-appointed)
DPSA – Mr Thabo Mokwena
SAPS – Lt Gen Lineo Ntshiea
Specialist – Dr Renosi Mokate (Re-appointed)
Specialist – Mr Themba Gamedze (Re-appointed)

Employee Representative Trustees
Department – Name
NEHAWU – Ms Kgomotso Makhupola (Re–appointed) 
SADTU – Mr Edward Kekana (Re-appointed)
NATU- Mr Alan Thompson 
PSA – Mr Pierre Snyman (Re-appointed)
DENOSA – Mr Sibonelo Cele
POPCRU – Adv Makhubalo Ndaba (Re-appointed) 
Uniformed Services – Col Johan Coetzer (Re-appointed)
Pensioner – Dr Frans le Roux (Re-appointed)

The GEPF Chairperson Dr Renosi Mokate welcomed trustees to the GEPF Board and wished them well in their term of office. She thanked the previous Board with whom she had worked with and congratulated them on their achievements over the last four years. GEPF Principal Executive Officer (PEO) Abel Sithole said, “The staff of the GEPF and I welcome the new Trustees to their positions and look forward to their contribution and guidance in the services of members, pensioners and beneficiaries”.